The Roundup: August 19, 2003 | ||||||||
|
=========================================================== INTERNET SHOCKER Here's your chance to get Yanik Silver to joint venture
with you and possibly promote even your product to his
Red-Hot buyers and opt-in list. You have to read the
stunning details before he calls it off: Table of Contents
1. Editor's MusingsToday's article talks about the latest Internet scam making the rounds. Although I think most of us are too smart to be taken in by blatant stuff like the Nigerian scam (we are, aren't we?), scams using the phishing approach can be trickier to detect. I've adapted a practice of never clicking through an email link when I receive an update information request from a bank or other business that has my personal information stored on site. Instead, I go to their link via the search engine or a bookmark and revise any necessary information that way 2. New Email Scam Being Blasted all over the World -- written by by Joe ReinboldDuring the last 48 hours we started receiving an email at our various email addresses that we use for our business. which contained this subject: "Your Checking Account at Citibank." The content of the HTML email is as follows: -----------"Dear Citibank customer, We are letting you know, that you, as a Citibank checking account holder, must become acquainted with our new Terms & Conditions and agree to it. Please, carefully read all the parts of our new Terms & Conditions and post your consent. Otherwise, we will have to suspend your Citibank checking account. This measure is to prevent misunderstanding between us and our valued customers. We are sorry for any inconvinience it may cause.Click here to access our Terms & Conditions page and not allow your Citibank checking account suspension. ----------If you click on the link provided in the email it will take you to a page that has the following information on it: "To continue to our Terms &anp; Conditions page, please identify yourself as a Citibank checking account holder by entering first 4 digits of your Citibank Banking Card and your full name in the form below. - First 4 digits of your Citibank Banking Card number which is displayed on you ATM/Debit Card. - Your full name." The URL that appears in the browser with an IP address rather than a domain name is not Citibank but an ISP in China. If you completed that page it would then take you to an actual Citibank Terms & Agreement page. The first couple of emails that we received had HTML coding in it with a site that appeared to be in Russia. Later ones that we received had all the coding of specific sites scrambled so you couldn't read it. I checked with Citibank's online fraud department on Saturday night and they were fully aware of the scam and had received numerous reports and copies of it that were coming from different parts of the world. Any email that ultimately asks for any account number or your personal financial information should be questioned immediately before furnishing the information. There were similar types of these emails sent out in the past that appeared to come from PayPal and E-Gold, two of the large financial transaction companies online. Be careful with your personal information, no legitimate company is going to ask you for that type information. ==========================================Joe Reinbold, creator of The Entrepreneur's Home Business Link at www.homebizlink.com and free autoresponders at www.123response.com publishes a free weekly email newsletter "Home Income Quarterly E-dition" which is dedicated to assisting online marketers. For a free subscription just mailto:subscribe@homebizlink.com or visit his site. ========================================= #3: Recommended Service: The Journey Education MarketingIt's almost time for school to start again. I want to remind the students and educators that you can purchase a wide range of software at hugely discounted prices. You do have to provide proof that you qualify, but if you do, you can get 1000s of software titles for as much as 75% off. The current selection includes Macromedia Studio for $199, Adobe Video Collection Standard for $429; Corel Painter 8 for $89; Alias Maya 5 for the Mac for $579, Macromedia Dreamweaver for $99, Inuit Quickbooks for $98, and thousands of others. Visit Journey Education Marketing at this Link 4. Internet Sites -- reviewed by June Campbell *** FBI Warns of New Internet Scam *** NasaKids *** Google News Alerts ***Staples Rebates *** Ebates 4. Freebies and Good Deals a. Where Writers, Publishers & Online Entrepreneurs Connect b. Please rate this Ezine at the Cumuli Ezine Finder. c. Did you know that subscribers to Bob Osgoodby's Free Ezine "Tip of the Day" get a Free Ad for their Business on his Web Page? Subscribe at: http://adv-marketing.com/business/subscribe2.htm. Great Business and Computer Tips - Monday thru Friday Instructions to place your ad are in the Newsletter. d. Free Report: "Success In Just 30 Days With Your Own Home-Based Business!"" Mailto:webmaster@makemoremoneynow.com with "30-DAY GUIDE" in the subject with your name, address, and phone number in the message. No report can be sent without this information. 6. Golfing BreakthroughGolfers are thrilled to discover a promising new invention that is turning the sport on its ears. A new device, known as the bee nut is an attachment that allows a golf club to be adjusted to any angle. Therefore, golfers need only carry one club around instead of a bagful. Golfers are hitting the greens by the thousands, eager to try out their new bee-nut putter sand-wedge. To subscribe to this newsletter, visit this link. "How to Booklets"-- topics include business proposal writing, business plan writing, brochure writing,an independant contractor's agreement, a sample joint venture agreement and more. Click www.nightcats.com This Ezine is listed in The Free Directory of Ezines |
|||||||